Fish “Tacos”

Today I am sharing one of my fav recipes! I first created it last winter when my husband and I (and Maddie and her husband) went on the Fast Metabolism Diet and it has become a staple in our meal plan. We used to make it with shrimp instead of fish but lately we have needed to change it up. I made this with tilapia and I think it’s so much yummier!

Ingredients:
Serves 1
5-6 Romaine Lettuces Leaves $1.00
2 Tilapia Fillets (can sub for shrimp for whatever fish you like) $1.98
2 Tbsp Hummus $.35
1/2 an Avocado $.74
Lime or Lemon Juice for garnish
Johnny’s Seasoning Salt
Lemon Pepper
Olive Oil
Total Cost Per Person: $4.50 (Added $.50 for seasonings and oil)

Directions:
1. Pat Tilapia dry and sprinkle on the Johnny’s Seasoning Salt and Lemon Pepper on one side. Lightly spray with olive oil.
2. Heat pan on medium and spray with olive oil.
3. Place fish seasoned side down on pan.
4. Season other side.
5. Cook for 4-5 min or until half way cooked through then flip and cook until the fish is completely cooked through.
6. While the fish is cooking prep your romaine lettuce (cut, wash, pat dry). 7. Spread hummus on the romaine lettuce.
8. Once fish is done add to romaine lettuce.
9. Top with avocado slices and sprinkle lemon or lime juice over the top.

Tips:
1. I always used the seasoning combo of Johnny’s and Lemon Pepper when I am cooking fish. It’s give a nice flavor without having to think too hard.
2. This is dish is only 293 calories but is really filling.
3. I use spray olive oil as much as possible when cooking. It gives me good control over how much I really use and need. One short spray has basically no calories. But if I just dumped an olive oil bottle in the pan or on the fish that can add up to a lot of calories that really aren’t that beneficial.

1 Comment

Leave a Comment